Sunday, February 22, 2009

how to make a vanilla latte

O kay in economic crunch I have rationed my latte purchases. Unfortunately that has make me rather sad, because I really like them. So I make them at home for a fraction of the cost and double the impression.

equipment you will need:

top of the stove espresso maker ( less that 5 bucks at winners)




a milk frother ( mine looks like a french press but manufacture says it is for frothing, and so says my mom)




espresso ( on sale it is less than the cost of a grande)




milk ( I use 2 % because 1% and skim froths like shit, and I like froth)
microwave

sugar ( or sugar sub)

vanilla (the best you can get, I have some brought back for me by a friend on vacation)




step one
heat the milk in a heat safe cup, use your microwave... no one will ever know!








step 2




start espresso




*follow manufactures instructions for the size maker you have




a note on the espresso maker, it will get dirty and not look nice, from what I read that is just how it is, when it get to the point you need a new one, go get it








step 3




add sugar and vanilla to taste to the heated milk




pour milk into frother cup, use pumping motion (this should be self explanatory) you want to add the sugar and vanilla here so you have a pretty drink at the end.
Pour into serving cups

step4
add espresso,


go nuts making espresso art








voila!








forced to take creative leave

So work has slowed down, like in so many other places, to a snail crawl. It means a lot of things. a bit more stress for me, a lot more time for painting ect, less money for fun things, (that part really sucks).

I am going to take a creative course in march so I have an option of a part time job that I like, and may have to get. I am pretty excited about that.

my house is still in stagnation in regards to the renovation/ upgrading. Though i was worried that prices have dropped, in my neighborhood they have stayed the same, so I am still feeling good about that choice. Other good news is that for 54 days I have had no furnace issues. That has been wonderful!

I have been scrap booking like a mad person lately, and really enjoying it. I really like to take the pictures then the "what to do with them now "sets in. No more!